Friday, June 8, 2012

Open Letter to New Brunswick Politicians re Crandall Scandal 6/8/2012

Greetings New Brunswick Canadian Members of Parliament, New Brunswick MLAs, Moncton City Council, and Prime Minister of Canada; and greetings CCed stakeholders of interest,


I am writing to introduce myself and to raise awareness of a national concern about an issue that is taking place locally in Moncton, that involves all three levels of Government.

I am a transsexual woman from Newfoundland who is a co-founder of St. John's Pride Inc., and a soon-to-be-founder of Newfoundland Patients Association for Transsexual Health Inc. I am also a journalist for Wayves Magazine.

As a local, provincial, national, and global activist for the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) community, I am writing to express disgust and concern regarding the Government funding of a non-credentialed educational institute known as Crandall.

Not only is it suspicious that Government would be funding a non-credentialed institute; it is even more suspicious that funding would go towards a private business of this nature. Even worse, is obvioiusly, the fact that Government is supporting an organization that has recently been exposed for having a blatantly discriminatory hiring policy: specifically, their refusal to hire individuals who are involved in 'homosexual relationships'.

As a resident and Federal tax payer of Canada, who identifies as a member of the LGBT Community, i am extremely disgusted that my hard-earned tax money is goin go an organization who is blatantly promoting hate and discrimination again me and many others like me.

In case you are not aware, this is the year 2012. Times have changed drasticallt since this "school" opened for business. Provinces are constantly eliminating special separate religious-sanctioned schools. Heck, even here in Newfoundland, our Catholic school board was eliminated in the 1990s.

While I have no issue with religious folks running their own private institute, in now way, can i support government tax payers money being given to any organization who has a blatant policy that violates globally-accepted human rights protocols.

On a personal note, my best friend in the entire world is a transsexual woman who lives and works in the Moncton, New Brunswick area. She has struggled to find acceptance for equality from both society, and in terms of Government policy. Ironically enough, she is currently recovering from a medically-necessary transsexual health procedure, for which the provincial government refuses to recognize in their poliices. Hence, my friend was forced to sell her house in order to finance this $18K procedure out of her own pocket.

As Canada works towards implimenting Bill C-279, and as provinces push similar transgender human rights bills through their respective legislatures, I think it is time Moncton gets on board and takes action to ensure they don't face any further outcry from society, nor have to deal with human rights complaints.

In addition to asking that all three levels of Government cease from funding Crandall University, i would also like to take this opportunity to ask that the Province of New Brunswick's department of Health take action to recognize that trannsexual health care is indeed a medically-necessary situation, and to consider putting a policy in place to ensure that care recommended to trans patients by their doctors, is covered by provincial health care.

One thing that supposedly makes Canada so great is our apparent record on health care and human rights. I ask you all to take steps in the right direction to eliminate the gaps that are still felt harshly by members of the LGBT community.

As a trans advocate, i am more than welcome to offer my consulting services, free of charge, to help move these matters forward.

please do not hesitate to get in touch with me,

thank you for your attention to this matter,

Respectfully and Sincerely,

Jennifer McCreath
M2F Transition Consultant
http://www.jennifermccreath.com/
info@jennifermccreath.com
www.twitter.com/Jenn_McCreath
709-753-9529
http://www.npath.net/
http://twitter.com/npathdotnet


Sent today to:

mayor@moncton.ca, arnold@moncton.ca, crossman@moncton.ca, henderson@moncton.ca, hicks@moncton.ca, landry@moncton.ca, boudreau@moncton.ca, theriault@moncton.ca, charles.leger@moncton.ca, bourgeois@moncton.ca, pellerin@moncton.ca,

mike.allen@parl.gc.ca, keith.ashfield@parl.gc.ca, yvon.godin@parl.gc.ca, Robert.Goguen@parl.gc.ca, dominic.leblanc@parl.gc.ca, rob.moore@parl.gc.ca, tilly.oneillgordon@parl.gc.ca, Bernard.Valcourt@parl.gc.ca, rodney.weston@parl.gc.ca, John.Williamson@parl.gc.ca, stephen.harper@parl.gc.ca,

Greg.Davis@gnb.ca, donald.arseneault@gnb.ca, roland.hache@gnb.ca, brian.kenny@gnb.ca, Ryan.Riordon@gnb.ca, Hedard.Albert@gnb.ca, paul.robichaud@gnb.ca, denis.landry2@gnb.ca, claude.landry@gnb.ca, serge.j.robichaud@gnb.ca, bill.fraser@gnb.ca, Robert.Trevors@gnb.ca, Jake.Stewart@gnb.ca, Bertrand.LeBlanc@gnb.ca, Shawn.Graham2@gnb.ca, claude.williams@gnb.ca, victor.boudreau@gnb.ca, mike.olscamp@gnb.ca, bernard.leblanc@gnb.ca, Roger.L.Melanson@gnb.ca, chris.collins@gnb.ca, Sue.Stultz@gnb.ca, Marie-Claude.Blais@gnb.ca, johnw.betts@gnb.ca, Sherry.Wilson@gnb.ca, bruce.fitch@gnb.ca, wayne.steeves@gnb.ca, bruce.northrup@gnb.ca, bev.harrison@gnb.ca, Blaine.Higgs@gnb.ca, Glen.Savoie@gnb.ca, Glen.Tait@gnb.ca, Carl.Killen@gnb.ca, trevor.holder@gnb.ca, Dorothy.Shephard@gnb.ca, Jim.Parrott@gnb.ca, rick.doucet@gnb.ca, Curtis.Malloch@gnb.ca, jody.carr@gnb.ca, Ross.Wetmore@gnb.ca, Troy.Lifford@gnb.ca, Pam.Lynch@gnb.ca, Craig.Leonard@gnb.ca, Brian.T.Macdonald@gnb.ca, jack.carr@gnb.ca, carl.urquhart@gnb.ca, kirk.macdonald@gnb.ca, david.alward@gnb.ca, dale.graham@gnb.ca, Wes.McLean@gnb.ca, Danny.Soucy@gnb.ca, Martine.Coulombe@gnb.ca, madeleine.dube@gnb.ca, Yvon.Bonenfant@gnb.ca



CCed to:
jack.harris@parl.gc.ca, Ryan.Cleary@parl.gc.ca, thomas.mulcair@parl.gc.ca, bob.rae@parl.gc.ca, Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca,

BCCed to: UnSurDix & Moncton River of Pride

#crandallscandal #nbpoli #cdnpoli

1 comment:

darkheart2011 said...

You has a great blog. I'm just blog walking, and very interesting to stopping here and leaves you a comment. Good work.

Lets keep writing and blogging

Nb: Dont forget to leave your comment back for us.